Philadelphia celebrates 249th Annual St. Patrick's Day Parade

Philadelphia's St. Patrick's Day Parade, which started in 1771 and is the country's second oldest parade of its kind, is still going strong.

The parade kicked off at 11 a.m. Sunday, with the route beginning at 16th Street and JFK Boulevard and wrapping up at Penn's Landing.

Around 20,000 people participated in the annual celebration, including some familiar faces from the FOX 29 family.

The parade will be re-broadcast on FOX 29 Sunday, March 17, from 12 p.m. - 3 p.m.

The Philadelphia Saint Patrick's Day Observance Association announced the winners below following the festivities:

Hon. James H.J. Tate Award
Outstanding Organization that Exemplifies the Spirit of the Parade
Sisters of St. Francis of Philadelphia / Neumann University

Msgr. Thomas J. Rilley Award
Outstanding Fraternal Organization
Joseph Fleming Memorial Brigade

George Costello Award
Outstanding Float in the Parade
Cavan Society

Hon. Vincent A. Carroll Award
Outstanding Musical Band
Port Chester NY High School Band

Walter Garvin Award
Outstanding Children's Irish Dance Group
Rince Ri School of Irish Dance

Marie C. Burns Award
Outstanding Adult Ceili Dance Group
Crossroads School of Irish Dance

Joseph E. Montgomery Award
Outstanding AOH and/or LAOH Divisions
AOH Division 65 Joseph E. Montgomery

Joseph J. "Banjo" McCoy Award
Outstanding Fraternal Organization
St. Gabriel's Irish Society

James F. Cawley Parade Director's Award
Outstanding Irish Performance Chosen by the Parade Director
Second Street Irish Society

Father Kevin C. Trautner Award
Outstanding Religious Organization that displays their Irish Heritage
St. Katherine Siena Northeast Philadelphia

Maureen McDade McGrory Award
Outstanding Children's Dance Group Exemplifying the Spirit of Irish Culture Through Traditional Dance.
Cummins School of Irish Dance

James P. "Jim" Kilgallen Award
Outstanding Organization Involving Charitable Endeavors
AOH / LAOH Division 87

Mary Theresa Dougherty Award
Outstanding Organization Dedicated to Serving the Needs of God's People
AOH Division 1 Dennis Kelly

Paul J. Phillips Jr. Award
Outstanding Parade Marshal
Ernie Diver

Philip 'Knute' Bonner Award
Outstanding organization dedicated to preserve our freedom
Philadelphia Police & Fire Pipes and Drums Band

Joseph J. Bradley Award
Outstanding dance group for originality and artistic interpretation of Irish Dance
McDade / Cara Championship Irish Dancers